To continue watching all these documentaries, please buy us a coffee.

Channel 4 – Penelope Keith’s Coastal Villages: Season 1 (2017) 1of3

Penelope Keith Coastal Villages 1of3

Dame Penelope Keith returns for more travels through Britains villages armed with her trusty Batsford guides. In this new series, shes exploring an integral part of Britains national character: its stunning coastline. Penelope seeks out the community heartbeat thats unique to coastal village life; from fishing and lifeboats to pleasure boating and holidaymaking, the sea brings both joy and danger; Penelope delves into local crafts and industry as well as arts and literature. She visits three distinct parts of the British coastline and contrasts what the writers of the Batsford guides discovered in the first half of the 20th century with what she sees today

Part 1: Isle of Wight & West Sussex
Touring the south coast, Penelope becomes immersed in stories of seafarers, smugglers and shipwrecks, with visits to Bosham, Birdham, and an epic battle of the waves

Part 2: Northumberland & Scottish Borders
Penelope is swept up by coastal tales of epic heroism, intrepid horticulture and smoked herring, as she visits Lindisfarne, Low Newton and the medieval village of Warkworth

Part 3: East Anglia
Penelope is plunged into tales of bravery, scandal and intrigue on the east coast, including stopovers at Weybourne, Cley Next The Sea, Thorpeness and Dunwich

Watch Video


Watch Video


Add Comment

become a patron
Buy us a coffeeBuy me a coffee - keep this site alive