To continue watching all these documentaries, please buy us a coffee.

BBC – Canal Boat Diaries (2019) Season 1

BBC Canal Boat Diaries Series 1

Robbie Cumming explores the English canal network.

Chapter 1: Shardlow to Stoke-on-Trent
Beginning with a journey from Shardlow to Etruria Junction, Stoke on Trent, exploring the Trent and Mersey Canal. However, not everything goes to plan, and he will have to deal with a tricky issue with his propeller as well as navigating the complicated locks on the Trent and Mersey Canal.

Chapter 2: Froghall to Bugsworth Basin
He explores the English canal network. A low canal tunnel in Staffordshire proves to be problematic, and Robbie helps out a stranded boater.

Chapter 3: Marple to Huddersfield
Exploration of the English canal network continues across the Pennines from Marple to Huddersfield, where his journey is hampered by a fallen tree and a leaking lock pound.

Chapter 4: Sowerby Bridge to Manchester
He travels along the Rochdale Canal from Sowerby Bridge to Manchester, but disaster strikes when he runs aground.

Chapter 5: Manchester to Liverpool
He concludes his journey by travelling from Barton Swing Aqueduct to Liverpool Docks – but experiences engine problems on the way.

Downloadable Links

Watch Video

Fast Link

Watch Video